Institut Ramon LLull


The Fundació Ramon Llull awards its international prizes to Peter Murray, Bernard Lesfargues and Georg Kremnitz

Culture.  18/12/2012

Today, in Ordino, Andorra, the Fundació Ramon Llull has awarded its three prizes to people or institutions that have worked for the international promotion of the Catalan language and culture. Prize-winners are the Englishman Peter Murray, the director of the Yorkshire Sculpture Park (YSP), the Frenchman Bernard Lesfargues, a Catalan translator, and the German Georg Kremnitz, a linguist and professor at the University of Vienna.


The prize-giving ceremony took place at the Casa d’Areny-Plandolit in Ordino, and was attended by Albert Esteve, the Andorran Minister of Culture, Vicenç Villatoro, the Director of the Fundació Ramon Llull and the Institut Ramon Llull, and Francesc Vallverdú, the President de la Fundació Congrés de Cultura Catalana. Several members of the prize jury that awarded the prizes were also present.

The first prize is the Ramon Llull Prize for the International Promotion of Catalan Creation, which recognizes the work of a person or institution that has organized a project promoting an important Catalan creator internationally. It has been awarded to Peter Murray, the Director of the YSP, in recognition of the exhibition dedicated to the sculptor Jaume Plensa, which ran from April 2011 to January 2012. The prize was a print by Antoni Tàpies.

The second prize is the Ramon Llull Prize for Literary Translation, which is awarded to the best translation of a work of Catalan literature into another language, with €4,000 in prize money. In this first year of the prize, the winner is Bernard Lesfargues for his translation of Mercè Rodoreda’s Mirall Trencat, which was published in 2011 by Autrement with the title Miroir brisé.

This is the first year that these two prizes have been awarded. The third one, on the other hand, is in its 22nd year. This is the Ramon Llull International Prize, given in recognition of the work of a person or institution that has promoted the Catalan language and culture internationally. Until this year, the prize was awarded by the IRL and the Fundació Congrés de Cultura Catalana. From the 2012 edition onwards, the Fundació Ramon Llull replaces the IRL. There is €8,000 prize money, half of which is paid by each of the two institutions. This year’s prize has been awarded to the German linguist Georg Kremnitz, Emeritus Professor at the Institute for Romance Languages at the University of Vienna for his work over the years.


    Logo Institut Ramon Llull
  • A consortium of:

  • Generalitat de Catalunya Govern Illes Balears Ajuntament de Barcelona
Av. Diagonal 373, 08008 Barcelona
T. +34 93 467 8000 ·

Opening times: 8h- 15h, MON-FRI.
Registry office: 9h-14h, MON-FRI
(By appointment: T. +34934678007)

Contact / Legal note / Accessibility / Privacy policy

This website only uses session cookies for technical and analytical purposes. It does not compile or assign users’ personal data without their consent. This website does, however, use third-party cookies for statistical purposes. You can obtain further information or manage or reject cookies by clicking on "+ Info".